TOJA from Mühlheim (Germany) are the newest band on the Pure Rock-sub label and have released three albums since they were founded in 1997. The quintet is very passionate about melodic hard rock with some metal influences. Their fourth full-length album “Sad Songs of Hope” is true to their style and convinces with 12 gripping tracks, which all fans of melodic sounds will definitively love. Powerful, sometimes higher vocals meet harmonious catchy choruses and matching keyboard parts; all in the tradition of AOR- and Melodic Metal-bands like the later RAINBOW, harder JOURNEY and sometimes PRETTY MAIDS. The album features hard and straight rock-pieces like the opener “The Storm” or “Free My Mind” and the more metallic title track, but also obligatory lyrical (half)ballads like “Day and Night” and “Waiting”, which lighten the album skillfully. TOJA have managed to create a much diversified output which captures all fascinating facets of the genre on one album. A very interesting chapter for all Hard Rock-fans!

1. The Storm
2. Into The Dark
3. Lost Horizon
4. Cosmic Ocean
5. Day and Night
6. A Little Folk Song
7. Take Me Home
8. Free My Mind
9. Waiting
10. Rising High
11. Sad Songs Of Hope
12. Don’t Turn Away
Total Playing: 52:46min

Jan “JJ” Thielking – Guitar, Keys, Back Voc
Berny Pezalla – Guitar, Back Voc
Oliver “Ole” Dietz – Bass
Tim Dierks – Drums
Tommy Rinn – Lead Voc, Guitar, Percussion