One of the first and most unique Heavy Metal bands in the Netherlands has been active again for more than a decade: PICTURE. For the 40th anniversary of the band a fantastic live album called ‘PICTURE LIVE: 40 Years Heavy Metal Ears, 1978-2018’ will be released through Pure Steel Records.


On the eponymous tour 17 songs were recorded, of course including many classics. These were played on the stages of Europe by the four original members we have known since their debut in 1980: Ronald van Prooijen, Jan Bechtum, Rinus Vreugdenhil and Laurens Bakker, as well as today’s second guitarist Appie de Gelder. Not many bands, especially those from the 1970s, can still perform their songs in the original line-up in 2018. PICTURE celebrate this event in their best form and devote themselves mainly to the songs of the first three band works.


Meanwhile, the gentlemen have entrenched themselves in a studio and actually announced a brand new album for 2019. Until then, we must continually devote ourselves to this never-ending classic: ‘PICTURE LIVE: 40 Years Heavy Metal Ears, 1978-2018’. A photo is usually only considered, PICTURE you can hear and feel.

1. You’re all alone

2. Get back or you’ll fall

3. Message from hell

4. Night hunter

5. The Hangman

6. Night tiger

7. No no no

8. Old Dogs New Tricks

9. Live by the sword

10. Eternal dark

11. Diamond dreamer

12. Heavy metal ears

13. Unemployed

14. Bombers

15. Lady Lightning

16. You can go

17. Spend the night with you
Total Playing Time: 76:21 min


Ronald van Prooijen – vocals
Jan Bechtum – guitars, backing vocals
Rinus Vreugdenhil – bass
Appie de Gelder – guitars, backing vocals

Laurens “Bakkie” Bakker – drums